“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends…


Wonderful, loving Birthday Lunch!

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.”
— Jane Austen
We had a wonderful birthday party this year. One of the girls couldn’t come, but the truest friends came, the ones who haven’t missed one lunch in 27 years and we had a time full of laughter, touching moments and even tears! One of the gals was really struggling and we were the Jane Austen quote in action! We did not love her by halves, but completely and gave her all of our support! It brought home to me the way I have felt for a long time about these dear friends:

I would do anything, within my core values, for these women! They are real friends. Friends you can call up early in the morning and wake them up and they won’t get mad! They’ll listen to your problem. Friends who will bring you groceries if there’s too much month at the end of your money, back when times were harder. Friends you would do the same things for and more, any time, any place. Friends who would be there one of our perfect marriages ever blew up in our face. Friends you would stand up for if anyone tried to put them down in any way! Friends who stand by you at the loss of a parent — or heaven forbid a child, or have a heartbreaking problem with one. We are true, loyal, on each other’s sides, real friends. And we are so thankful to have each other!

These are the friends that were at my birthday lunch and we had a blessed time. We had an inspired, wonderful, life-affirming time. We gave each other the best present a friend can give one another: the Gift of Love!

Here’s the celebratory dessert we shared!
Hurray for us!

3 thoughts on ““There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends…

  1. Very Glad you had a WONDERFUL Birthday. AMAZING friendship that endures over 27 years is very rare and obviously a BLESSING! May your next 27 be just as amazing for you. RICH :0)

  2. Thanks Rich! Actually the friendships have lasted longer, 44 years and 39 years respectively! But we’ve had 27 consecutive years of celebrating our birthdays together with a luncheon in June. Thanks for the great wishes :) Libby

  3. Pingback: “There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends… (via There’s Laughter In The Telling) | There's Laughter In The Telling

Leave a Reply

