Our car escapes the junk heap again, this time with laughter!


We Love To Laugh!


We were driving home from a busy day on Friday. My husband Mike had the day off. We’d gotten our teeth cleaned and run errands and made a day of it. We were beat and eager to get home! We were driving on 394, the freeway that leads to our house in Minnetonka, a suburb of Minneapolis, Mn. Suddenly the car started making a terrible whooshing sound!

I panicked of course. I said what is that and Mike replied he had no idea, but that he’d recently put some money into diagnostics on the car and it really couldn’t be anything. I begged to differ. I said we just had $300+ put into this car and now it’s really falling apart! I say we drive right to Morrie’s and trade it in today! Before something else goes drastically wrong. And I panicked about three more things related to the car in quick succession! I thought Mike was going to listen to me and get real tense instead he stayed calm saying there is nothing wrong with the car. My mind fixated on that like a kind of mantra and suddenly I said, “Could it be the mood roof? I had that open today to show mom.” He looked at me reached up and shut the moon roof tightly. The whooshing stopped. He started to laugh. And then without warning, began to do a perfect imitation of me in a state of high anxiety! 🙂 He was sooo funny! I started laughing and couldn’t stop! He was perfect! He was saying in a high-pitched voice, we’ve got to call Morrie’s see what they’re offering for used cars! We’ve got to over there at once and see if they will work with us! We can’t let this car eat anymore of our money and so on and so on and so on!!!

We both laughed so very hard!! It’s good to laugh at yourself! And I wouldn’t have if Mike was in the habit of imitating me, but he wasn’t. He’d never done it before. Which is what made it so funny! We went into spasms of laughter, not at each other, but at life. And cars, And pinching pennies! Hope you laughed with us! And remember this wisdom:

“Everyone wants to ride with you in the limo but what you want is someone who will take the bus with you when the limo breaks down.” — Oprah Winfrey — That’s my guy!

Leave a Reply

